Submit Your Applications for Energy Catalyst (Round 7)

Deadline: 18 September 2019
Applications are now open for Energy catalyst round 7: early stage to support highly innovative, market-focused energy solutions in any technology or sector.
Innovate UK (part of UK Research and Innovation), the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) and the Department for International Development (DFID) will invest up to £22 million. This is in innovation projects as part of the Global Challenges Research Fund (GCRF) and Transforming Energy Access (TEA) programme.


  • Cost
  • Emissions
  • Security of supply and energy access

Funding Information
Applicants early stage project’s total eligible costs must be between £50,000 and £300,000.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Lead applicants
  • The administrative lead:
  • must be based in the UK
  • will be the recipient of the award and will distribute funding to the international partners (hub and spoke model)
  • must be an SME, academic organisation or RTO
  • will manage and be accountable for the finances of the project in accordance with the terms and conditions of the award
  • must claim funding through this competition
  • The technical lead:
  • can be from anywhere in the world
  • will lead on the development of the scope, work packages within the project and other work from a technical perspective
  • can be an SME, academic or RTO
  • must claim funding through this competition

To be eligible for funding applicant can be from any country, and must be a:

  • business
  • research technology organisation (RTO)
  • academic organisation
  • charity
  • or public sector organisation
  • Applicants project:
  • must intend to use the results to help deliver clean energy access in sub-Saharan Africa, South Asia or both
  • must include a UK-based administrative lead
  • must involve at least one SME, from anywhere in the world


  • Sub-Saharan Africa: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Eswatini (Swaziland), Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe
  • South Asia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam

How to Apply

(Visited 382 times, 1 visits today)